It’s Beginning to Look a Lot Like Christmas…

Well, my favorite time of the year is officially here as I’m sure many of you are feeling!

It always happens every year around late September that I begin to get a little skip to my step as it turns into “pumpkin season!”

I. Love. Pumpkins.

Everything about them: the smell, taste, look, decor, season that they bring! Love them! As we venture from October into November  my pumpkins transition from Halloween pumpkins (I’m not a carver so much as a pumpkin decorator!) to Fall/Harvest/Thanksgiving pumpkins. I guess I love that too about pumpkins: they are relevant both for Halloween and the Fall Harvest season. Then comes Thanksgiving. We are always out of town for Thanksgiving and it has actually sorta turned into this funny tradition for about the last 3 years that we drive home from the Thanksgiving holiday, throw the dogs and the luggage in the house and go straight back out to find our Christmas tree! Then, it truly turns into my favorite time of the year!

Pine smell. Ornaments. Wassail. Garland. Angels. Snow Globes. Oh, yes.

It’s also funny that about this time every year you get on Facebook and your News Feed simply explodes with photos of everyone’s Christmas decorations! At first thought it seems funny, but I don’t think it’s really all that odd when you take note of how this Christmas season makes you feel on the inside: cozy, joyful, hopeful, warm and thankful! If you are feeling that way, it’s no surprise that everyone else is too- and one’s Christmas decor is just a simple expression and reminder to us that it is officially the Christmas holiday! So, since I have not been one to blast my Christmas decoration photos on Facebook yet, I’ll do it here! I’d love to see your decorations too, especially your fun, creative ways that you turn your house into a home during the Christmas season!

Our TREE!

 photo 3 copy photo 2 copy

Garland on the banister and tree! The cornice boards behind the tree I showed you how to make here.

photo 1

Little do-dads around the house that make me smile!

photo 4 photo 5 photo 1 copy

photo 2

Sorry the light in the photo below is bad, but I just love that my Mom gave me the manger set that I grew up with! It’s now displayed in my house every Christmas 🙂

photo 3

That’s most of it, folks!

Merry Christmas to you and yours…from me and mine!

Thankful today that Jesus came in the most surprising of ways to save me and you,

Lauren Schauer

Leave a Reply

